While I Was Gone

Cover of "Rilla of Ingleside (Anne of Gre...

Cover via Amazon

Yes, I disappeared for a little while there, but rest assured, I’ve been reading.

This past holiday weekend on a long bus ride, I polished off two very different books, Getting to Happy and Freedom: A Novel (Oprah’s Book Club), and I liked both, for very different reasons. On a plane ride before that, I read two different slices of American history in Passing Strange: A Gilded Age Tale of Love and Deception Across the Color Line and For the Thrill of It: Leopold, Loeb, and the Murder That Shocked Jazz Age Chicago; again, both were fascinating and enjoyable, but for very different reasons. Then today, I bought an old childhood favorite of mine, Rilla of Ingleside (Anne of Green Gables, No. 8), and read half of it already.

The problem is that in this frantic, hectic, end-of-the-school-year time, I just haven’t carved out any blogging time. I’ll be back soonish though, so if you want reviews of any of the books I’ve just mentioned, give me a shout here and I’ll whip one up. I’ve got a poetry post ready for the weekend, and will get back on my regular schedule sometime in the near future.

No, really.

4 Comments

Filed under Children's and YA Literature, Fiction

4 responses to “While I Was Gone

  1. I’d love to hear about Passing Strange, which I picked up on a bargain table at one point but haven’t cracked open, and the Leopold and Loeb book.

    I so love Anne of Green Gables, and to a lesser extent the next two books (of Avonlea and of the Island), but I never had a soft spot for the remainder of the series, and I’ve been disappointed in the other books I’ve read by Montgomery (mostly the Emily of New Moon books and the Pat of Silver Bush books). Which doesn’t mean that I didn’t get very excited when D. told me there’s a possibility she may go to PEI for business next summer and that I can come along! Way back in college, my roommate and I made a loving pilgrimage through Montgomery’s house, soaking in everything we saw, and I’d enjoy doing so again, all these years later.

    • WN: my capsule review of Passing Strange is that it was really well-done, but that the scarcity of historical records for the woman involved really hindered the historian’s ability to capture her the way I wished was possible, if that makes sense. I think it’s worth a read, though, especially if it’s a bargain buy! Lots of historical/cultural interest as far as our construction of race, too. I will write a paired review of those two books as my next substantial post!

      I have a devoted and uncritical love for all of LM Montgomery’s work and am hoping against all hope that someday, I will get to PEI!

  2. So glad to see you back, and – yes – That Old Cape Magic shoulda gone on my list!
    Now that you’ve got Freedom under your belt, what’s left for the summer for you?
    I’ve been on a Y.A. kick this week, but haven’t gotten the reviews out yet. Will Grayson/Will Grayson’s on my list for tomorrow…

    • Oooh, Will Grayson’s on my year-long list for sure!

      As far as the summer, I’m still dedicated to tackling War and Peace, but otherwise, haven’t finalized much more since my last thoughts on it. Did you read Freedom? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

