BTT: New Year’s Resolutions

Any New Year’s reading resolutions?

Well, you’re reading one right now: starting this blog was a New Year’s project for me!

What do I want my year of reading to be like? Most of all, I want to challenge myself, not just by signing up for challenges (though that will play a big part), but by pushing myself to read a substantial amount of books I’ve never read before or always wanted to read. I want to be able to check off some titles on the list I’ve been carrying around in my head, but also, I want to push my boundaries, read more in genres I often skip out of habit (YA lit, mysteries) or in areas where my reading has been very shallow (GLBT lit). I want to find the same comfort and escape that I’ve always found in reading, but I also want to feel inspired by new and classic perspectives.

8 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday

8 responses to “BTT: New Year’s Resolutions

  1. I agree with you about pushing boundaries in reading, that’s one of my goals too. Good luck with your blog 🙂

  2. I’m totally with you about pushing the boundaries of genres (it’s one of my resolutions too!)
    my list is here: http://babblingbookworm.blogspot.com/2011/01/booking-through-thursday-reading.html

    Also, congrats on starting up the new blog! I also started my book blog recently (approximately a week ago)

  3. Hi Jackie – Nice to meet you 🙂
    I’m with you on pushing boundries. I have my comfort and go-to authors but need to remember to read non-fiction, more classics, etc. Good luck with your reading resolutions!

    • Iliana, I definitely have”comfort” authors too–perhaps good fodder for a future post? Thanks for stopping by, and good luck with pushing your boundaries in 2011.

Leave a Reply

