BTT: Periodically

January 2007 40th Anniversary Front Cover

Image via Wikipedia

Even I read things other than books from time to time … like, Magazines! What magazines/journals do you read?

Oh, I have always been a magazine lover! My parents subscribed to Ranger Rick for us when we were kids, and then one glorious birthday somewhere in my early teens, they gifted me with my own subscription to Seventeen, which was my Bible for many years.

Now, I subscribe to a number of magazines for myself: O, the Oprah magazine, Everyday with Rachael Ray, Poets & Writers, Bitch and Ms.. My daughters get Highlights, and I just recently subscribed them to Ranger Rick and American Girl. Next for them, I think, will be Stone Soup, which features art and creative writing by children, and which I wish I had known about at their age. I’d love to find one or two literary journals/magazines I really loved, and subscribe to those too.

I also spent years of my life ordering and collecting zines, as well as publishing four issues of my own zine, which I called “Esperanza: where hope springs maternal.” I loved making my zines, trading them with other mothers, seeing them in stores, and even having it reviewed favorably by the Utne Reader. Somewhere in the chaos of returning to work, moving, moving again, and other seismic shifts, I got disconnected from the world of zines.

This year, however, I signed up for The Revenge of Print!, so sometime in 2011, I’ll be publishing another zine, and I’m already thinking of ideas. The last zine project I really wanted to do was an alphabet issue, a short piece on something connected to each letter of the alphabet, and now that my girls are older, I’m thinking of making it a team issue with their contributions too. They are such creative girls, and I think self-publishing could be really powerful for them.

3 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, The Family That Reads

3 responses to “BTT: Periodically

  1. Ranger Rick was the best!

    • Jenn: I know, right?! I’m so excited for the first issue to arrive!

      Mary Ann: Vogue is always the mag I buy when I want a treat, and I usually pick up the September issue.

Leave a Reply

