Bookish Valentine

Tree decorated for Valentine's Day in San Dieg...

Image via Wikipedia

This year, I’m giving my husband a bookish Valentine: the first volume of memoirs by one of his favorite artists, Stephen Sondheim. Finishing the Hat: Collected Lyrics (1954-1981) with Attendant Comments, Principles, Heresies, Grudges, Whines and Anecdotes is supposed to be amazing, just as literate and hilarious as Sondheim’s best work. I’m so excited to see him open it!

I also posted a poem for him at my other blog, which I do every February, either for our anniversary or V-Day. It’s a simple present, in some ways, but he knows how much I mean every word, and I think it is meaningful to him too. I would love, one year, for that February poem to be one I’ve written myself, but so far, love poems are not in my poetic repertoire.

Tell me a bookish Valentine’s story, please, and I hope you’re having a wonderful day.

4 Comments

Filed under The Family That Reads

4 responses to “Bookish Valentine

  1. Spike

    it is a wonderful valentine’s present for me. I can’t wait to read about how Sondheim and the director’s and book writers he worked with, plus the actors, all brought the musicals to life! thanks darling!

  2. Wow! I’ve been slowly paging through “Finishing the Hat” since receiving it as a Christmas gift: So far, it’s the longest-standing “reading now” on my Goodreads shelf, a place of honor indeed. It’s quite densely packed, and I was surprised (although I shouldn’t have been, I suppose) at how hyper-critical our Stephen is of everybody and everything. On the other hand, I’m a hopelessly devoted Sondheim fan, so I’m still smitten by this book. I’d love to hear how your Spike responds…
    Thanks for your comments about the Marvell, and here’s an inside scoop: Back in my younger days, a rather literate-passionate boyfriend memorized the whole poem and offered it to me for a Valentine. Perhaps Spike would like to follow his lead next year? I must say, it was quite the winning gesture…
    L

    • Laurie, my husband is a long-time Sondheim devotee, so I knew he would like it, but I didn’t realize what a large and lengthy book it would be! I’m sure he will be working his way through for weeks to come, but hopefully the structure will lend itself to that. Maybe I can coax him into doing a guest review once he does finish!

      Points to your literate love–that kind of wooing would have won me over for sure!

Leave a Reply

