Reading New York City

Cover of "The Age of Innocence"

Cover of The Age of Innocence

My mother’s family arrived in New York City from Ireland and England over a century ago, and so our family roots in the city are deep, though I have never lived there. Part of this connection for me is the deep and abiding love I have always felt for novels and films about New York City, which I will submit are most often outstanding examples of their genres. Comedies, dramas, romances, tragedies: the best of these are often set in New York.

I don’t know if I could ever choose the best NYC novel, but luckily, a writer at New York magazine has tackled that question for me. Two of my favorite novels ever are on the list: The Bonfire of the Vanities and The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay. More importantly, his top choice, The Age of Innocence, is not only one of my favorites, but also by one of my favorite authors ever, the legendary Edith Wharton.

If you haven’t read it, please drop everything and immediately do so. If you have, then read the article, see what you think, and then come back here and give me your vote for greatest NYC novel (or film!) of all time.

3 Comments

Filed under Favorites, Fiction, Pensees on Reading

3 responses to “Reading New York City

  1. Pingback: Review: Old New York | Jackie Is Reading…..

  2. Thank you, Jackie: This post is perfect timing for me as I’m returning to NYC after a 20 year absence (grew up and did my first 6 years’ teaching nearby, so I was a regular visitor for many years) and need a book or three for the lengthy plane trips involved. Once again, we’re in sync, and I’m so grateful!

    • Laurie, I love reading about my destination on the way there–had you already read these three? If not, they are must-reads for any New Yorker, I think. Are you returning for good, or just for fun?

Leave a Reply

