BTT: Multi-Tasking

Do you multi-task when you read? Do other things like stirring things on the stove, brushing your teeth, watching television, knitting, walking, et cetera?

Or is it just me, and you sit and do nothing but focus on what you’re reading?

(Or, if you do both, why, when, and which do you prefer?)

I have always multi-tasked when reading; in fact, I’ve been notorious in my family for decades for reading while walking up and down the stairs, a habit that used to drive my mother crazy. She also hated when I tried to read at the tale, and I have to confess that I do this too often now that I’m the adult in my house. However, I don’t always multi-task; last night I spent a few hours reading a book I’ve been completely entranced by (The Invisible Bridge by Julie Orringer, review coming soon) and there was no multi-tasking at all involved.

Why do I do it? I think that especially when I was a child or adolescent, I would disappear so completely into a book I was reading that I really had trouble breaking that spell to do such mundane things as eat or walk. There has been no greater magic in my life than books, and I have spent so much of my life a willing captive, completely immersed in other worlds, both real and fantastic. No thing has had a greater influence on me than reading.

This is my Booking Through Thursday entry.

14 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday

14 responses to “BTT: Multi-Tasking

  1. I can’t do anything except listen to music when I am reading! I gotta turn to Audio books! Only way to keep up with reading!

    Here is my BTT: Multi-Tasking post!

  2. I can do both but I prefer complete quiet so I can focus on the story. There was a time though, when my kids were small, that the only chance I had to read at all was by keeping my book in the bathroom.

    When it comes to reading, you gotta do what you gotta do.

  3. @gautami: I love listening to music when I am reading student papers or short-form stuff, but it can mess me up when I’m reading more intense fiction or nonfiction.

    @trish: I have definitely been there!

  4. What a great reason as to why you multitask while reading. I’m with you there, sometimes I’m so enthralled with a book I’m loathe to put it down and will actually sit there with it and ignore tasks I know I’m supposed to do so then I take the book with me and do what needs to be done. I too am notorious for walking with a book, but usually I have to put it down because I’m also a huge klutz.

    Here’s my BTT Post

  5. Yes, my preference is focusing totally on the book, while sipping something like coffee or tea….

    Here’s MY BTT POST

  6. @dragonfly–I have definitely tripped-while-reading, but it’s so worth it!

    @laurelrainsnow: I’m usually snacking rather than sipping, until the book gets REALLY good and all I can do is turn pages!

  7. Mostly, I like a quiet place to read.

  8. Stairs! Very impressed. If I did that broken bones would follow. I fell down the stairs twice last year in the space of a week and I wasn’t even reading.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/03/booking-through-thursday-9.html

  9. @Mary Ann: You and me both, sister, though it can be so tough to find. I’ve managed to establish a habit of reading before bed, and sometimes that’s the best hour of my day.

    @ Sally: Yikes! No books on the stairs for you, indeed!

  10. I gave up on walking and reading after walking into a few things, painful and embarassing. Still, there are plenty of other opportunities to multitask, and I’m great at standing in the middle of the bathroom with a book and my toothbrush: http://mostraum.wordpress.com/2011/03/10/booking-through-thursday-multitasking/

  11. Pingback: 2nd Tip for Multi-Tasking Multi-Media « Windy Kai

  12. Pingback: Solo-Tasking | Inside-Out

  13. Pingback: Slow Down, You’re Moving Too Fast | Inside Out Cafe

  14. Pingback: Being There | Everyday Gyaan

Leave a Reply

