Quarterly Challenges Update

Couple Sitting Among Lanterns (Vanity Fair), J...

Image via Wikipedia

Now that I have one quarter of 2011 behind me, how am I doing on my challenges?

Books I Should Have Read in High School

I’ve finished two (Frankenstein and Things Fall Apart), gotten stalled on one, started another one, and have two left I haven’t touched at all. I’m determined to finish Julius Caesar, my stalled book, but may have to wait until the school year is over, and I’ve started and am enjoying Vanity Fair. I’m saving War and Peace for the summer, and will have to figure out when I’m ready for Song of Solomon.

GLBT Challenge

Three down, three to go on this one, and I’ll probably read Will Grayson, Will Grayson next.

Gothic Reading Challenge

Two down here, though one was a crossover book with another challenge (Frankenstein). I need to get cracking on the other three.

Southern Literature Challenge

Doing very well here with 2/3 done, although I did pick the fewest number of books for this challenge. The one title left on my list is Faulkner’s As I Lay Dying, which is also on my Gothic challenge list. It would be great to kill two birds with one stone, so I think this book will move up on my to-read list very shortly.

Take A Chance Challenge

Okay, I’ve totally dropped the ball on this one. Perhaps this will be what I tackle after War and Peace this summer?!

Starting my book blog at the beginning of this year was really kind of a lark–I tried not to overthink it and just jumped in, adding challenges left and right and posting reviews as soon as I could. But now that I’m past the very early stages, I have to say that doing reading challenges is one of my favorite parts of book blogging; it is thrilling to see what I’ve managed to tackle so far, in what has been a very busy 2011, and I can only imagine the feeling of accomplishment I’ll have at the end of the year when all my challenges are finished. Also, I think this is really helping me be better at my job (teaching English), but also, has opened me up to some authors and perspectives I might not have tried out otherwise.

All of this to say, if you haven’t done a reading challenge before, I would highly recommend it!

3 Comments

Filed under Books I Should Have Read in High School, GLBT Literature Challenge, Gothic Reading Challenge, Southern Literature Challenge, Take A Chance Challenge

3 responses to “Quarterly Challenges Update

  1. Our book group is planning to read War and Peace this summer (we tackled Anna Karenina last summer!). Shall we sign you on as a virtual member for July and August?
    Congratulations on all your accomplishments via the book challenges, and thanks once again for your fine blog.

    • Laurie, that sounds great! I’m really looking forward to W&P, and it would be great to have some company! Thanks also for such kind words–the book-blogosphere has been so welcoming!

  2. Pingback: Summer Reading Thoughts | Jackie Is Reading…..

Leave a Reply

