Summer Reading Thoughts

Tolstoy death mask from the author's private c...

Image via Wikipedia

I make a summer reading list for myself every year, and while other books always sneak their way in, I find it really helpful to make plans for what I think will be nourishing or enriching during the summer, a time that is just as much about recharging as it is about taking time away.

So I try to mix in a few teaching books, but also books I read just for myself, not with a thought towards teaching, but just because I want to read them. This summer I’m rethinking how I teach grammar and vocabulary with my ninth graders, so I’ve got a vocabulary workbook on my list.  We usually end up reading more bedtime books with the girls over the summer too, since I’m not exhausted at the end of the day and we don’t need to worry about morning wake-up times. This year, I’ve already designated some of my challenge titles to be summer books, not for content, but because I’d like to be able to fully immerse myself in them. I’m thinking of shifting Vanity Fair to the summer for that reason; I’ve started, but am having trouble making headway just reading before bed.

So far, here are the titles I’m considering:

War and Peace , Tolstoy
Mendocino and Other Stories, Ann Packer
Teaching with Intention, Debbie Miller
Glencoe Language Arts Vocabulary Power Workbook Grade 9
As I Lay Dying, William Faulkner
The Fiery Trial: Abraham Lincoln and American Slavery
State of Wonder, Ann Patchett

I’m sure I’ll update this list closer to actual summertime, shuffling some titles on and off the list, but when it’s been raining off and on for weeks, and it seems like summer will never come, it’s reassuring to make lists and dream of sunshine and heat.

1 Comment

Filed under Favorites, Pensees on Reading, The Family That Reads, Uncategorized

One response to “Summer Reading Thoughts

  1. Our book group just confirmed ole W&P for our summer read; join us in cyberspace? And I just bought three teaching books for the summer too. Other than that, I think I’ll let the sun shine me toward whatever’s ripest among the fruits of the season…
    I’ll put up the linky-tool for the poetry hop at midnight (Pacific time) on Sunday. Looking forward to reading your first pick, and your readers will be most welcome.
    L

Leave a Reply

