BTT: Coming Soon to a Theater Near You

Cover of "The Amazing Adventures of Kaval...

Cover via Amazon

If you could see one book turned into the perfect movie–one that would capture everything you love, the characters, the look, the feel, the story–what book would you choose?

My answer for this is also one of my favorite novels ever: The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, which is beautifully written, but also has some scenes that just seem ready to leap onto the page, like the party at Rosa’s father’s house where we see her paintings for the first time and Salvador Dali almost drowns in his diving helmet. I’d love to see how they would bring the comic pages to life on the screen, maybe mixing animation and actors, and the trio of Sammy, Joe and Rosa would be parts of a lifetime for the right actors, not to mention Tracy Bacon, Rosa’s father, and Sammy and Rosa’s son.

Unfortunately, I’m not sure this will ever happen. For almost ten years now, the film has been in development hell, though some tantalizing scenes have been released. There are rumors about a version that would be released in 2012, but I’m not holding my breath until more definite details are made public.

9 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday

9 responses to “BTT: Coming Soon to a Theater Near You

  1. I’m not familiar with this one, but anything with characters that “leap” off the page seems to be a good candidate for filmdom.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY BTT2 POST

  2. I’m dying to read that book but there are so many ahead of it on my TBR and it’s sooo long too that I think I’m a bit afraid of it. But I guess I better go read it before they make it into a movie! Your strong recommendation has pushed it up the list! 🙂

  3. I have never heard of this book. Thanks for sharing something new.

    Here is my pick

  4. I haven’t read this book, but really want too, now!!!

  5. Good choice,looks interesting.

    Stop and see mine and my giveaways: http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com

  6. I never heard of this book either, sounds good.

    here’s mine:http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com

  7. Interesting I’ve never heard of this one. I’ll have to check it out.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/04/booking-through-thursday-15.html

  8. Pingback: Not in Theaters: BTT | Jackie Is Reading…..

Leave a Reply

